Stuffed Sausages

Sounds kinda tautological, doesn’t it?

I can’t think of a better word to describe my puzzlement.

Sausages, are by definition, stuffed. With meat and other good stuff.

Tonight I ordered a stuffed sausage called mombar at Tasha, another Egyptian restaurant on Hazza bin Zayed Street.

Mombar sausages are stuffed with rice and meat. Actually more rice than meat. You can actually see the rice through the translucent sausage casing which is made of sheep or cow intestine.

I also ordered some bird’s tongue soup with chicken. It’s not actually made with bird’s tongue although there are in fact dishes made with the tongues of larks and flamingos.

The bird’s tongue in this chicken soup is actually orzo. It reminds me of lengua de gato, those thin and crunchy butter cookies that were invented in the Philippines.

I thought at first that this was the only rice-stuffed sausage I had ever tried. Then I realized I had eaten morcilla sausages from Burgos, Spain, which are also stuffed with rice and pig’s blood. An officemate of Marita smuggled the haram sausages along with other equally haram pork products in her suitcase on her flight to the UAE.

Fortunately, I can get easily get mombar for delivery or dine-in when I return to New York City.

It just won’t be quite the same as ordering it in Tasha or other Egyptian restaurants in this beautiful desert country, and watching movies of Faden Hamama and Omar Sharif on their big screen TVs.

Leave a comment