Kosher Kitchen Goodies – in the UAE!

After three and a half years here in the UAE, I finally, finally,  got a taste of classic Jewish food.

I can’t just hop on a plane and fly to Jerusalem from Abu Dhabi.  At least that was the case until just about a week ago when the UAE (and Bahrain) signed a historic peace deal with Israel.

As a transplanted New Yorker, I’m always on the lookout for the usual Jewish fare – pastrami, bagels, whitefish, etc.  We’re really spoiled in New York City.  Iconic places like Katz’s, Veselka, and Second Avenue Deli are easy to reach via bus or subway.

So it was such a welcome and pleasant surprise to learn about Elli’s Kosher Kitchen in Dubai, owned by Elli Kriel.  I exchanged emails with Elli and ordered gefilte fish, date rugelach, borekas, some cholent spices, and best of all – chocolate babka.

The babka was dense and rich and literally quite heavy, weight-wise. And absolutely delicious, especially with the stronger than usual espresso that I prepared! Weight watchers, beware!

Elli suggested a kosher wine brand to pair with the gefilte fish. Unfortunately, our nearby Spinney’s doesn’t carry the brand.

I asked her if she was planning to offer pastrami and bagels. I guess the brisket in her menu is the closest thing to my beloved pastrami from Katz’s in NYC. I do miss bagels from H&H and Fairway Market (which sadly just filed for bankruptcy).

We’ve enjoyed some wonderful iftars here at some 5-star hotels. It would be wonderful and inspiring to have Elli’s rugelach, babka and other Jewish specialties together with the usual Arabic harees and gars.

A branch in Abu Dhabi is in the works, according to Elli. Can’t wait for that to happen. I and my fellow New Yorkers here will surely be among her first customers.

One thought on “Kosher Kitchen Goodies – in the UAE!

  1. Wow that historic peace agreement with Israel must really be a sweet deal if you can now get all those yummyJewish delicacies in the UAE😋

Leave a comment